Facebook/Webseries integration: Aim High

30 Sep

Aimee Teegarden and Jackson Rathbone in a scene from Aim High

I don’t know if I really understand how this new show Aim High is going to work, but apparently if you sign up for the Facebook app you could find yourself (your photos, your name etc) embedded into a future episode.  Starring Jackson Rathbone (of the Twilight series) and Aimee Teegarden (Friday Night Lights), the series is about a spy who has to go to high school. . . or something.  I think we’ll probably have to watch the show to fully understand how Rathbone’s character became a spy before completing, or even aging out of, high school.  But it’s a double life thing and there will be a lot of ass-kicking and teenagers in love so it sounds like it’s right up my alley.  It is produced by McG and Wonderland Sound & Vision (full disclosure: I was an intern there a few years ago and they are awesome) who also produced The O.C. and Chuck so it’s also got some good pedigree behind it.  But I’m not sure the social media angle is an actual hook or just a nuisance.  I suppose if I was a youngster who used Facebook to a dizzying degree, it might be cool to hear my name over the loudspeaker or see my photo used in the yearbook, but as it stands, I can barely watch videos on my computer (because it’s a dinosaur) and this whole thing makes me feel old.

[beginning of random paragraph] Also, do we call it a show?  I mean, it was created solely for the internet so technically, it’s not a TV show, it’s an Internet show.  Which would be a web-series.  But I think the word web-series is stupid.  I’m sort of ok with the word webisode, but feel like that only really applies to episodes of established TV shows created specifically for the internet.  We should come up with a new term for TV-like shows that are created specifically for the web.  It’s the wave of the future so we need to get on this right away.  These are the things that keep me up at night.  [end of random paragraph]

Aim High will debut on Facebook and Cambio.com on October 11th.

Leave a comment